Exchange-Specific Playbooks

Best Crypto Exchange in UAE? Dubai Changes the Answer

Dubai and the rest of the UAE get different first routes.

Two gold-rimmed exchange discs face off, a black one with lime swap arrows and a white one with black swap arrows, split by a large lime VS above a small gold Bitcoin coin.
It depends on your emirate. In Dubai, start a first spot buy with Binance, then OKX; Bybit's BVAPO route excludes Dubai. For retail derivatives in Dubai, OKX is the only one of the three whose VARA record explicitly permits them. In another emirate, check Bybit's UAE entity first, then confirm the exact account and product after you select your residence.
Updated

The short answer by residence

Among Bybit, Binance, and OKX, the right first route changes with where you live and what you want to trade.

  • Dubai, spot: Binance (Binance FZE) first, then OKX (OKX Middle East). Both VARA records permit retail investors.
  • Dubai, retail derivatives: OKX. Binance FZE's record limits derivatives and margin to institutional or qualified investors.
  • Another emirate, spot: Bybit's UAE-regulated entity first, then Binance FZE. Confirm your exact account and product.
  • Another emirate, retail derivatives: no direct route is established by the sources checked.

Route and AED cost checker

Which route fits where you live?

Public-rate example, not a live quote. Sources checked 2026-10-21.

Where do you live?
What do you need?

Default 10,000 AED. Used only for the fee arithmetic.

Dubai, first spot buy: start with Binance, then OKX

Both have an active VARA record that permits retail investors. Bybit's BVAPO route is not available in Dubai.

Start here · Spot route with a VARA retail permission

Binance (Binance FZE)

VARA lists Binance FZE as an active VASP with retail investors permitted. AED spot pairs for UAE residents run through Binance FZE, so you must be onboarded to it.

AED bank deposit fee (published)
0.00 AED
Minimum AED bank deposit
10.00 AED
Trading cost
Check the live order preview/account

Next route · Spot route with a VARA retail permission

OKX (OKX Middle East)

VARA lists OKX Middle East Fintech FZE as an active VASP with retail investors permitted.

Regular-user AED-pair taker fee (0.135%)
13.50 AED
VAT
Not stated in the fee source; not added

Excluded from this answer

  • Bybit: Bybit's restricted-jurisdiction list (updated 2026-10-16) excludes Dubai from its BVAPO service.

Not included: spread, slippage, payment-provider costs, withdrawal and network fees, and any tax other than the stated Bybit VAT. Routes are not ranked by these numbers because the trading rates and tax treatment are not normalized across exchanges.

Why Dubai changes the answer

Bybit's restricted-countries page, updated 2026-10-16, names Dubai among the jurisdictions its BVAPO service excludes. So Bybit is not a Dubai route here, even though its VAT FAQ says UAE residents opening accounts from 2026-01-19 use a UAE-regulated entity.

The reverse also holds: a Dubai VARA record does not prove a specific account route in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, or another emirate. That is why OKX is not named outside Dubai.

What the AED cost example includes

On 10,000 AED, Bybit's selected AED pairs at 0.55% cost 55.00 AED, plus 5% VAT on the fee (2.75 AED): 57.75 AED. OKX's regular-user AED taker rate of 0.135% gives 13.50 AED, with no VAT added because the fee source does not state one. Binance FZE publishes a 0 AED bank deposit fee with a 10 AED minimum, but its trading rate was not established, so check the live order preview.

Spread, slippage, payment-provider costs, withdrawal and network fees, and other tax are excluded. The rates are not normalized, so they are not a ranking.

What a licence or terms page does not prove

A public register entry or help-centre page does not prove that your account will be onboarded today, that every product is open to you, or anything about signup attribution or revenue. Confirm residence, entity, and product inside your own account before you deposit.

How this page was checked

Trade Shortlist read the seven official pages listed below on 2026-10-21: two VARA register entries, Bybit's restricted-countries page, VAT FAQ, and AED fee notice, Binance FZE's AED bank transfer FAQ, and OKX's UAE fee framework. We did not open accounts, deposit, or trade for this page, and we do not rank the exchanges by testing.

What this example does not promise

  • Fee figures are public-rate arithmetic, not a live quote or a trade anyone placed.
  • A licence or terms page does not prove current onboarding for your account or that every product is available to you.
  • Rules and fee schedules change; re-check the linked sources before you act.

Next step

Compare

Still weighing the two Dubai spot routes?

The comparison puts Binance and OKX side by side. Use the checker above for the route that fits your emirate and need.

Official sources, checked 2026-10-21

FAQ

What is the best crypto exchange in Dubai?

For a first spot buy, start with Binance (Binance FZE), then OKX (OKX Middle East); both VARA records permit retail investors. For retail derivatives, OKX is the only one of Bybit, Binance, and OKX whose VARA record explicitly permits them. Bybit's BVAPO route excludes Dubai.

Is Bybit available in Dubai?

Not through its BVAPO route: Bybit's restricted-countries page, updated 2026-10-16, lists Dubai as excluded. Outside Dubai, Bybit's UAE-regulated entity is the first route to check, subject to your exact account and product.

What is the best crypto exchange in the UAE outside Dubai?

Check Bybit's UAE-regulated entity first, then Binance FZE, and confirm the exact account and product after selecting your residence. A Dubai VARA record does not prove an account route in another emirate.

How much does a 10,000 AED buy cost?

As a public-rate example, Bybit's selected AED pairs give 55.00 AED in fees plus 2.75 AED VAT, or 57.75 AED. OKX's regular AED taker rate gives 13.50 AED. Binance FZE's trading rate was not established, so check the live order preview. Spread, slippage, and withdrawal costs are excluded.